Hero Header - Alberta Data Centre Media Monitoring | reVerb
Data centre development in Alberta, Canada
Media Monitoring

Alberta data centre media monitoring

Every major data centre project in the province, tracked in one place.

reVerb follows data centre development across Alberta and pulls the headlines and application updates into a single feed. It is free to use, built for municipalities, counties, proponents and residents watching a project land in their county. Alongside the feed, reVerb provides data centre community consultation in Alberta, for councils weighing an application and for proponents bringing one forward. Stakeholder engagement on complex industrial projects is at the heart of our work.

Loading the latest coverage.

Coverage by Project

Alberta data centre projects

Select any project for its details and every story we have logged on it, newest first. Every project also appears on the map below.

Southern Chestermere

Budget
$4 billion (proponent estimate)
Timeline
Land use approved April 2025; no construction date announced
5 stories · latest Aug 19, 2025

Status: Proposed

Beacon AI Centers proposed a 400 MW AI and high-performance computing campus on about 310 acres in southern Chestermere. City council approved the land use change in April 2025.

No development permit or power plant application has been made public since, and Beacon's own campus list no longer includes this site.

In the News: Beacon Chestermere AI Data Centre

Wabamun area, Parkland County (exact site not published)

Budget
Not disclosed
Timeline
Not announced
4 stories · latest Oct 14, 2026

Status: Proposed

Beacon AI Centers proposed a 400 MW AI data centre with on-site generation in Parkland County, in the Wabamun area between Keephills and Duffield. Parkland County noted the proposal in March 2026.

No rezoning, development permit or power plant application has been made public, and the exact site has not been published. The map pin shows the general area.

In the News: Beacon Harry Smith AI Data Centre

Sturgeon County, about 7 km east of Gibbons

Budget
Not disclosed
Timeline
First operations targeted for fall 2027; AUC decision expected fall 2026
3 stories · latest Oct 16, 2026

Status: In approvals

Beacon AI Centers plans an 800 MW AI campus on 320 acres in Alberta's Industrial Heartland, powered by a 920 MW on-site natural gas plant. Sturgeon County has issued a master site development permit.

The AUC reviewed the power plant through a written hearing that closed in July 2026, and its decision is pending.

In the News: Beacon Heartland AI Data Centre

Near Indus, Rocky View County

Budget
Not disclosed (the earlier 400 MW design was $4 billion)
Timeline
Operations targeted for 2028 (energization was first targeted for December 2026)
11 stories · latest Oct 5, 2026

Status: In approvals

Beacon AI Centers plans a 1,200 MW AI campus on 627 acres about 2 km northwest of Indus, powered by a 1,494 MW on-site natural gas plant. Rocky View County approved the area structure plan and zoning in June 2025 and later joined the AUC review as a participant.

The AUC held an oral hearing on the power plant in August 2026 and has not yet issued a decision.

In the News: Beacon Indus Data Centre Hub

Near Saunders Lake, Leduc County

Budget
Not disclosed
Timeline
Not announced
3 stories · latest Mar 10, 2026

Status: Proposed

Beacon AI Centers proposed a 400 MW AI data centre with on-site generation near Saunders Lake in Leduc County, close to Edmonton International Airport.

No Leduc County decision or power plant application has been made public, and Beacon's own campus list no longer includes this site.

In the News: Beacon Saunders Lake AI Data Centre

Blindman Industrial Park, Red Deer County

Budget
Not disclosed
Timeline
First data halls targeted for 2027 (completion was set for 2026)
6 stories · latest Aug 13, 2026

Status: Under construction

Havenz Smart Communities, through Agritech Haven International, is building an AI and high-performance computing data centre in Blindman Industrial Park north of Red Deer.

Red Deer County approved the development permit in October 2025, and the AUC approved a 5 MW natural gas heat and power plant in September 2025. Construction is underway, and the company now describes a 10 MW first phase with room to grow.

In the News: Blindman Industrial Park Data Centre

Alsike and Myers sites (exact sites not published)

Budget
About $1 billion per power plant (Kalina estimate)
Timeline
First investment decision targeted for 2027; no construction date
5 stories · latest Jun 30, 2026

Status: Proposed

Kalina Distributed Power announced plans in February 2025 to build natural gas power plants with carbon capture for Crusoe AI data centres at three Alberta sites.

The Rocky View County site near Crossfield was withdrawn in April 2026 after local opposition. The Alsike and Myers sites remain proposed with no AUC or municipal application made public, and recent Kalina updates do not mention Crusoe. The map pin shows the Alsike area.

In the News: Crusoe and Kalina AI Data Centres

Southeast of Clive, Lacombe County

Budget
$2 million (proponent estimate)
Timeline
Construction tentatively March 2027 (operation was first targeted for October 2026)
9 stories · latest Sep 29, 2026

Status: In approvals

Armada Nowlit Energy proposes a modular data processing facility with 19.8 MW of on-site natural gas generation on about 4.4 acres southeast of Clive. The power is for use on site only, with no export to the grid.

Lacombe County is reviewing an application to redesignate the land from agricultural to heavy industrial, and no approvals have been granted.

In the News: Clive Data Centre

Sturgeon County, about 8.5 km east of Gibbons

Budget
More than $13 billion (Meta)
Timeline
Ground broken July 2026; construction to 2029; dedicated gas power in service second half of 2030
12 stories · latest Sep 28, 2026

Status: Under construction

Meta is building its first Canadian data centre, a 1 GW AI campus in Alberta's Industrial Heartland about 30 km north of Edmonton. Sturgeon County issued the development permit in June 2026 and Meta broke ground on July 8, 2026.

Power will come from the Greenlight Electricity Centre, a 1,864 MW natural gas plant the AUC approved in June 2026, with Capital Power supplying 250 MW in the meantime.

In the News: Meta Data Centre Sturgeon County

Former Carmon Creek site, Northern Sunrise County

Budget
Not disclosed
Timeline
First power targeted for 2027
7 stories · latest Jul 6, 2026

Status: In approvals

Mihta Askiy Datacenter LP, majority owned by Woodland Cree First Nation with Sovereign Digital Infrastructure, plans a 650 MW AI data centre at the former Shell Carmon Creek site about 40 km northeast of Peace River.

Federal and provincial regulators decided in spring 2026 that no further impact assessment is required. Power plant and municipal approvals are still to come.

In the News: Mihta Askiy Data Centre

Strathmore

Budget
Not disclosed
Timeline
Operations were targeted for June 2026; not yet confirmed
3 stories · latest Aug 19, 2025

Status: Proposed

Prairie Sky Data Solutions plans to convert a former cannabis facility in Strathmore into an AI data centre, starting with 1.5 MW of power and growing to 13 MW by the end of the first phase.

The company announced the project in August 2025 and targeted operations for June 2026. No public update on construction or operations has been reported since.

In the News: Prairie Sky Data Solutions Data Centre Strathmore

Olds, Mountain View County

Budget
$10 billion (proponent estimate)
Timeline
Construction was planned for March 2026; power plant refused August 2026
12 stories · latest Aug 18, 2026

Status: Refused

Synapse Data Center proposed a 1 GW AI data centre in the northeast industrial area of Olds, powered by a 1,400 MW natural gas plant with 1,800 MW of backup diesel generation.

The Alberta Utilities Commission (AUC) closed the first power plant application in March 2026 and refused the second in August 2026 (Decision 30732-D01-2026), finding the site not suitable. About 1,500 parties asked to take part in that proceeding and more than 900 were granted standing. Synapse has said the Olds project will not proceed as proposed.

In the News: Synapse Olds Data Centre

Greenview Industrial Gateway, MD of Greenview

Budget
$70 billion at full build-out (proponent estimate)
Timeline
Construction 2027 if approved, phased development from 2029 (first phase was targeted for 2027)
11 stories · latest Sep 11, 2026

Status: Proposed

O'Leary Digital proposes an AI data centre park with up to 9 GW of on-site generation on the Greenview Industrial Gateway, about 40 km south of Grande Prairie. The first phase has grown to 2 GW from the 1.4 GW announced in December 2024.

The MD of Greenview holds the Smoky River water licence for the site, and Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation's judicial review of that licence goes to court in December 2026. The province designated the gateway an industrial zone in August 2026.

In the News: Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park

Olds, Mountain View County (site not public)

Budget
$200 million to $300 million to start (Town of Olds)
Timeline
Operations were expected in late 2026; no development permit filed yet
11 stories · latest Feb 18, 2026

Status: Proposed

Data District, a division of Swiss asset manager Alcral AG, announced four Alberta data centres in December 2025 with Technologies New Energy as its power and supply chain partner. The four sites total about 240 MW and $1.26 billion.

Data District has bought land in Olds, and as of March 2026 the Town had received no development permit or other application. This project is separate from the Synapse proposal in Olds.

In the News: Data District Data Centre Olds

MD of Bonnyville (site not finalized)

Budget
Not disclosed ($1.26 billion across all four sites)
Timeline
Construction planned for 2027
6 stories · latest Jan 12, 2026

Status: Proposed

Data District, a division of Swiss asset manager Alcral AG, announced four Alberta data centres in December 2025 with Technologies New Energy as its power and supply chain partner. The four sites total about 240 MW and $1.26 billion.

The Bonnyville-area site is in the MD of Bonnyville, with construction planned for 2027. The exact site had not been finalized as of January 2026.

In the News: Data District Data Centre Bonnyville

Calgary area (site not public)

Budget
Not disclosed ($1.26 billion across all four sites)
Timeline
Not announced
5 stories · latest Jan 2, 2026

Status: Proposed

Data District, a division of Swiss asset manager Alcral AG, announced four Alberta data centres in December 2025 with Technologies New Energy as its power and supply chain partner. The four sites total about 240 MW and $1.26 billion.

No Calgary-area site, filing or date has been made public. The map pin shows the general area.

In the News: Data District Data Centre Calgary

Edmonton area (site not public)

Budget
Not disclosed ($1.26 billion across all four sites)
Timeline
Not announced
5 stories · latest Jan 2, 2026

Status: Proposed

Data District, a division of Swiss asset manager Alcral AG, announced four Alberta data centres in December 2025 with Technologies New Energy as its power and supply chain partner. The four sites total about 240 MW and $1.26 billion.

No Edmonton-area site, filing or date has been made public. The map pin shows the general area.

In the News: Data District Data Centre Edmonton

Travers Reservoir

1 story · latest Oct 7, 2026

Status: Proposed

Planned as a hyperscale AI data centre with a target IT load of up to 2,000 MW (2.4 gigawatts in some news reports), potentially built over four 500 MW phases, featuring multiple data centre buildings.

The project is currently under review following a judicial challenge from local residents. Settlements regarding rezoning and environmental approvals remain pending through the Alberta Court of King’s Bench

In the News: Travers AI Data Centre Campus

Yellowhead County

Budget
20 billion
Timeline
Completed 2030
No coverage logged yet

Status: Proposed

Emerald Energy Technologies, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Tourmaline Oil Corp, is planning to build a power-generation facility and a data centre called Malachite One. The proposed site is on Crown land, adjacent to Tourmaline’s active Banshee Gas Plant about 40 kilometres southwest of Edson in Yellowhead County. The project would convert 150 million cubic feet of natural gas daily into one gigawatt of electricity to power the data centre.

Project Map

    Select a dot to preview a project. Where dots overlap, you get a list of every project at that spot.

    SUBSCRIBE

    Want updates as soon as new projects, delays or funding announcements are posted?

    Sign up below to receive email notifications when we update this page.

    Whether you're a contractor, planner or public sector staff, we’ll help you stay on top of data centre projects across Alberta.

    * indicates required

    Intuit Mailchimp

    Disclaimer:
    This page is for informational purposes only and reflects publicly available data from news sources, government releases, and project websites. reVerb Communications does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of the information provided. This is a free service intended to support awareness and public engagement. For official project details, please refer directly to the relevant project owner or agency.

    Recommended Read: What is Media Monitoring?